Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

Great Expectations… April 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 3:59 pm

The above title is not just a great piece of literature, it’s also a standard I have always tried to hold myself to.  Like many young girls, I have always had a lot of hopes and dreams for how my “picture perfect” pregnancy would go.  I was going to eat great, continue with my exercise regime, and generally try to exude that glow that some pregnant women have (cue the chorus singing beautiful music in the background). 

At times I have found it difficult to reconcile reality with what some of my expectations were and last weeks little escapade in labor and delivery brought a huge helping of the realities of a triplet pregnancy.  Don’t get me wrong, I am absolutely thrilled and feel so blessed to be given this job and I am still so emotionally overwhelmed at the thought of three beautiful baby boys.  But my attitude has been undergoing an adjustment (some might say an overdue one).  I am finding out that there is a huge difference in reading about the events and possible complications than actually experiencing them first hand.  So while I may have been down this past week, I am definitely not out!  My attitude has rebounded to it’s normally high levels 🙂 and I am again back on track.  Other moms of multiples tell me this is completely normal and in fact may continue throughout the pregnancy.  So, I do ask for some specific positive thoughts and prayers for me and my family to continue to embrace all that this pregnancy will bring, the good, the bad, the stressful, and the triumphant.

Now that I’ve gone over all the drama, let’s get to the good part: my doctor’s visit.  Everything looked great and even though I am still having some occassional contractions, my cervical length is still nice and long.  The boys have grown quite a bit and now weigh in at 13 ozs. for A & C and 12 ozs. for B.  Dr. Groome is pleased with my progress so far and has given the ok for me to continue to work part time for now.  My weight gain is still very slow but steady; I am at about 15 lbs. total so far.  Below are the pictures from the ultrasound this week.  As you can see, there is no pic of baby A because he wasn’t very cooperative and isn’t in a very photogenic spot. 

So again, thank you so much for all the encouragement and well wishes; it really lifts my spirit up on tough days.  Hope things are going well for everyone else and that you have been enjoying all the pretty Spring weather.

Much love, Renita

 

3 Responses to “Great Expectations…”

  1. Mary Parker Says:

    Hi,
    Glad you are right on track!! Glad you are feeling more yourself. The boys are really growing. Not sure if you go back to the doctor this week but they will be even larger. Getting to be quite a lot for one the size you started out at the beginning. I am sure you are tiring easy so just take care of all of you. We love you so much. All of you. Mammaw and Pappaw

  2. Betty Temple Says:

    Our sdaily thoughts and prayers are with you and your lovely family. You are already blessed and God will bring you safely through to the end. Just keep your thoughts centered on HIM and HE will not let you down. We love you all.
    Aunt Betty and Uncle Gene

  3. Wendy Brown Aufdenspring Says:

    Renita-

    Steve and I have friends who had triplets (three boys) last year. All three are healthy, rough-n-tumble boys. Their website is below if you would like to check it out.

    http://www.babyhomepages.net/meinhardtboys

    Thinking of you daily,

    Wendy


Leave a Reply

