Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to bed I go… April 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 2:13 pm

Well, well, I am typing this exciting post live from my new home, the 4th floor of LSUHSC-Shreveport.  At my dr’s. appt. yesterday, everything with the tater tots was great; however my cervix had shortened to a point that Dr. Groome was not comfortable with.  So he asked/ordered me to spend some time on strict bed rest in the hospital in the hopes of preventing any further shortening. It looks like I will be here for a minimum of a week and then we will re-check; however, there is always the possibility that this is a one way ticket until the boys make their grand appearance.  And while I hate being here, I am willing to do whatever it takes to delay this delivery as long as possible (someone remind me I said that if I get stuck here long term). 

A few people have asked me when it will be safe to deliver these babies; as with so many things in a multiple pregnancy, the answer is it depends.  24 weeks gestation is the edge of viability for the babies; however, we would like to keep cooking much longer than that.  The goal we have set for the pregnancy is somewhere between 32-34 weeks; that is best case scenario.  However, there may come a time when either my health deteriorates or the babies are in distress and they need to be taken earlier.  I will be delivering by a mandatory c-section and then the boys will be in the capable hands of the LSU NICU staff. 

But at this time, I have a selfish request; and that is to please send your thoughts for my health and more importantly, my sanity 🙂 As usual, the staff and our friends here at LSU are taking excellent care of me although I am still trying to figure out how I am going to gain the weight my dr. wants on this food.  And also, please keep Ross in your thoughts and prayers as he is picking up a lot of the burden of me being away from home.  We appreciate everyone’s care and concern so much at this trying time; of course we are concerned for me and the babies, but for now our spirits are high.

Much love, R

 

 

8 Responses to “Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to bed I go…”

  1. Mom Says:

    Of course you know you are never far from my thoughts as you haven’t been for the last 27 years! But I think of you even more these last few months. But every day I look at your calendar and see it is one day farther down the ticker I know you are one day closer to a safe and healthy delivery of the boys. Let Dr. Groome and everyone else take care of you. Enjoy being waited on for a while. Hopefully someone can get you some good food. Please let me know if there is anything, big or small that you could need. Hope to see you soon. Love to all, MOM

  2. Mammaw Parker Says:

    Sometimes our plans go awry. I so wanted you to have a couple (at least) more weekends before off to bed. We know the doctor knows best. The main most important thing is for you and these guys to grow some more. I know you are going to have excellent care. I know excellent food would mean a little better chance for the growing. You will make it. We love you so much. Take care of our boys.
    Love, Mammaw & Pappaw

  3. Irie and Tropical Says:

    Ross, you, and those 3 strong wonderful boys are in our thoughts….and always our prayers. Bed rest, oh well, use it now, you are going to need it….We love all of you, and want the best for you…Could you please e-mail me the address and room number of the hospital? We will also give you a shout out on all of our radio stations, so we can get this worldwide in prayer….I totally believe in prayer. In friendship and love, Irie

  4. Wendy & Billy Carter Says:

    WOW! Good Morning, Renita & Ross. I had no idea you were with 1 much less 3! I guess this means you guys aren’t coming to Jamaica. I will keep you and your precious baby boys in my thoughts and definitely in my prayers. You’re a very strong and determined young lady. Do as your mother says and let someone that’s more than capable take care of you and those angels. That’s your only goal and nothing else. If there’s anything we can do for you down here in New Orleans, please let us know. Much love and prayers, Billy & Wendy Carter.

  5. Aunt Jan Says:

    Well Renita, I just read your last post. Debbie called me yesterday to let me know what was going on. She tries to keep me posted on everything that is going on and how all of you guys are doing. I have been meaning to call you, but have had my plate full as well. Two of Renee’s children have been having some problems and one of her twins was hospitalized for a week and is still undergoing some tests, so my mind has been elsewhere. Her twins are 14 now and will be 15 this September 4th. Please take care of yourself and those babies and believe it or not before you know it you will be having that 1st birthday party. I will try to call soon, Love, Aunt Jan.

  6. Mary Utley Says:

    Well, I tried to get this to post this morning, but Tropical and Irie are thinking about Ross/You/Boys. You are in our prayers, and I think pretty nationwide by now. That is the wonderful thing about working for 5 radio stations. Could you please make sure someone e-mails Anthony and I your address at the hospital? Enjoy the bedrest, you are going to need it…..Love, Irie

  7. Christina Nguyen Says:

    Hey Chick,

    I am so sorry to hear you are in the hospital. If there is anything I can do, please please let me know. I can probably round up some books for you, and get them over to Shreveport if you want. I can get Billy to deliver them wherever you might be. Do you have a phone number where I can reach you at the hospital?

    – Christina

  8. Aunt Sandy Says:

    Dear Ross and Renita, I hope all is well with you both!! or all five!!! Wow!!! I can’t believe 3 babies are on the way here. You have truly been blessed or challenged!! What ever comes your way will be possible with God leading your life!! Please remember to let him be your guiding force in all your decisions. Pray daily for guidance and forgiveness for others!!
    I am so excited because now being a grandmother to Summer and Sam, I understand how wonderful grandchildren are. If I can do anything for either one of you, please call or email me. I would love to be a part of this wonderful introduction of my great nephews. Please keep us posted as to when and where the big event will take place. Love you all, Aunt Sandy


Leave a Reply

