Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

Happy Mother’s Day! May 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 5:54 pm

To all of the incredible women in my life, most of all my mother and my sister, who have been such a source of inspiration and advice, today is the day I say thank you!  Many of you have provided incredible examples of both the sacrifices and rewards of motherhood; over the last few months ya’ll have answered my questions, encouraged me, and helped me grow up into a mom-to-be.  What an incredible example so many of the ladies in my life have set for me and these boys; if I turn out 1/2 as successful as them, I’ll know I’m doing good!

And an enormous thank you to all of my visitors and callers this weekend; you have helped keep my spirits up.  And so many of you came bearing beautiful gifts of flowers or food to help me celebrate my first year as a mom-to-be.  Everyone’s support and visits mean more to me than you could ever know. 

I also figured that today would be an appropriate day to share something that my mom sent me very early on in the pregnancy; at that time, it made me cry and hope that it would all come true.  That is still my wish today.  So with that, I say Happy Mother’s Day!  And be sure and call your Momma and say thank you!

“Triplets?”

Your voice barely squawked out, “triplets?”
Yes, there on the screen were three tiny embryos.
Tears welled up in your eyes as the thought overwhelmed you.
“I wanted to be pregnant, but I didn’t want this!”
How will I ever manage?
Three babies all at one time…
I’ll go crazy!
The house isn’t big enough; the car’s not big enough.
I’m not even sure we can afford them
My life will never be normal again!
And all those weeks I have to spend in bed…
What will happen to my friendship with my husband?
Oh, this isn’t how I planned it at all!
Then the Lord said,
“Now, you didn’t plan it this way, but I did.
Remember my thoughts are not your thoughts, and my ways are not your ways.
My plans are for the good of your welfare, and not for your calamity.
Have you forgotten?
My way is perfect.”
Yes, God has chosen you to be the mother of triplets.
He must have looked down from heaven one day and said,
“Where is the woman I can entrust with three little ones?
Ah, there she is. She loves me.
She loves her husband.
She loves her children.
I know that she is the best one for this responsibility.
And it is a responsibility.”
There will be days when you’ll feel like giving up.
But when those three little ones “rise up and call you blessed”
You’ll forget about the bad days.
When they wrap their arms around your neck and say,
“I Love You, Mommy!”
You’ll forget about the tears.
Yes, you’re going to be the mother of triplets.
And one day they will know
That God gave them the best mother they could have.

— Author Unknown

 

One Response to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Ginger Says:

    You are truly a special, beautiful, very sweet person. If anyone can handle this multiple blessing it is you. Easy, no. Rewarding, yes. Just remember that your support group is large with a plethora of advice, support and love. Never hesitate to call. We’re here!

    Love ya,

    Mrs. Ginger


Leave a Reply

