Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

I Saw God Today… June 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 8:45 am

Well I finally feel alive enough to update on me and brag a little on the boys.  The last few days have been quite a blur with me being pretty out of it.  I definitely perked up a little bit after the 2 blood transfusions on Tuesday and it seems like my recovery is proceeding as expected after 6 weeks of bed rest and an emergency c-section.  In the next few weeks I will post all the details of how everything feel apart on Sunday but for now I would rather focus on more positive things.

All of the boys are making great progress and we couldn’t be happier with how they are doing.  Rowan is still setting the bar for progress; he is still on the bubble cpap for a little help breathing and has had his feedings increased to 3 ccs every 3 hours.  So far I have got to change his diaper and even got to hold him for the first time the other night.  And let me tell you, it rocked my world; he tucked up close to my body and put his little hand in his mouth and it seemed like time stood still.

Our little troublemaker Finn is also doing really good; he is on the bubble cpap also and is doing great with it.  Finn also got started on feeds and is now at 2.5 ccs every 3 hours; he was also removed from the bili lights which means we can now see his beautiful little eyes.

And finally an update on our tiny little Eli; he is still on the ventilator but over the last few days they have started to decrease the settings.  If all continues to go well he should be transitioned to cpap over the weekend.  They have also just started his feeds and he is getting 0.5 ccs every 3 hours; I have also got to change his tiny little diaper.  I know there will come a day that I will be sick and tired of diaper changes; but for now it is one of the few things I get to do for the boys and it means a lot to me.

To all of our friends and family that have helped out so much this past week, it is a debt that can never be repaid.  Ya’ll have been by our sides to perk up our spirits, feed us, and generally do anything we have asked.  And the only payment anyone has asked for has been pictures and update of our beautiful boys 🙂 Many people have asked us about specific needs during this time; to be honest all I ask for is continued thoughts and prayers for my little family.  Specific areas of thoughts are for the boys to continue to progress at their own pace; we also hope to continue to avoid many of the common pitfalls and problems associated with NICU.  And I personally could use some help on my quest to become Maggie the Moo Cow for my boys; I am working really hard at getting my pumping going so the boys can have breastmilk for all of their feeds.  So in sum, just keep thinking of us; it takes a lot of strength to leave those babies up there every day, but I truly know it’s the best place for them.

And I’ll finish with these song lyrics that speak to my heart; I heard this song once when I was pregnant and it made me cry.  I now understand it in a completely different way:

I got my face pressed up against the nursery glass
He’s sleeping like a rock
My name on his wrist wearing tiny blue socks
He’s got my nose, he’s got his daddy’s eyes
My brand new baby boys
Their a miracle
I saw God today

 

2 Responses to “I Saw God Today…”

  1. In the beginning, I produced only 3-5 cc of milk in a 15-20 minute pumping session. Now it’s 10-12 ounces. So don’t give up. I’m sure you’ve heard all the tricks and they do work: massaging the breasts before & while pumping, warmth (warm damp wash cloths or gel heat packs) on the breasts before pumping, a relaxed setting (including relaxing music – Aaron Schust was one of my choices), photos of the boys on hand, and drinking lots & lots of water. And eat plenty of high-cal foods. lots of protein! And if you haven’t already, get a good medical grade pump. It makes a huge difference. Your body knows you had triplets, and it will soon accommodate! Good luck! Oh, and may I also recommend lanolin for the you-know-whats! A word to the wise – start using it before they start getting tender. Happy pumping!

  2. Holly Corley Says:

    Congratulations!!! It’s so great that the boys’ little personalities are already evident. We hope everyone continues to do well and wish you and Ross the best of luck — you will definitely need it with a house full of boys!! We’re praying for y’all!


Leave a Reply

