Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

Heavy Lunch Bunch June 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 9:59 pm

The boys are growing!  The latest weights are as follows: Rowan is now in the 3 lb club, Elliott is at 2 lbs. 14 ozs. and Finn comes in a whopping 2 lbs. 15.5 ozs.  At this rate, we look to be putting clothes on them in about 1 week. 

We had a great weekend with lots of grandparents visiting; everybody got a turn at holding those precious boys and all agreed on how cute they are!  Mom and I also got a very special treat when we showed up on Sunday and got to see Elliott’s nurse try his feeding with a bottle and a nipple; a first for both.  They had restarted his feeds and she just wanted to give him a chance to see what he did.  He did pretty good for his age; actually in the nurses words he was advanced for his age and possessed adequate skills.  This is one of this biggest hurdles for preemies; the coordination of suck, swallow, breathe that enables us to eat is a lot of work for these little boys.

They have all just been doing so incredibly well; it is an amazing miracle how blessed we have been on this journey so far.  I know much of our “luck” can be attributed to the many wonderful people who have been praying for us and sending us so many positive thoughts and love.  Trust me, there are many days and times that we feel all the love and it definitely helps keep us moving in a positive direction. 

And now for a little funny; we’ve all heard of baptism by fire, and many of us have been baptized in the water (we are Southern Baptist after all), but today Ross and I got to see one of our boys get baptized by…pee!  Daddy was in the middle of changing a dirty diaper for Rowan and he responded by peeing all over himself! Before it was over, Rowan had wet his brand new diaper before it was fastened and there was pee from his neck to his thighs.  Such is our new life as the parents of boys I suppose.  I must say it’s normal experiences such as these that continue to make me feel so lucky; and I know I’m biased, but these boys are just the most incredible things I’ve ever been special enough to be a part of. 

And now for a shameful apology; there are so many wonderful, incredible people that I owe thank you notes, return phone calls, etc.  Please know that I do deeply appreciate all of the many flowers, meals, phone messages, and other gifts that have been passed our way.  I know that Emily Post would probably be ashamed of me; but like a bad girl, I rationalize by saying that Mrs. Post probably never had triplets either!  Please know that I am indeed very thankful and have not forgotten my manners totally. 

On a totally unrelated note, today was very special for me as I got my braces off 🙂 A huge thank you to Dr. Nasser and his staff for their great work and if I do say so myself, my new smile looks fabulous! 

So thanks again for everybody’s support; the only thing on the radar with the boys right now are the results of little Eli’s latest cranial ultrasound.  We are hoping and praying that his brain bleed has continued to diminish and would be extremely grateful if it has resolved completely. 

 

5 Responses to “Heavy Lunch Bunch”

  1. Carla Brown Says:

    The updates on how you guys are doing are “thanks” enough. Just concentrate on keeping yourself sane, rested, pumped, fed, etc..

  2. Anthony and Mary Says:

    Thanks so much for the updates. Prayer is a wonderful thing. Congrats on getting the braces off. And hugs and kisses to all the family. We are so happy things are going so well. We knew they would…..Take care of each other. keep posting

  3. Aimee Says:

    Awww, Renita they are so precious and adorable. 🙂

  4. They’re getting big! Glad to continue to hear positive reports. Hope your C-sect site is doing well still. And yay! braces off! While you’re at it, go get your hair & nails done, because before too much longer . . . 🙂

  5. Sonjie Says:

    I agree with Darla (I don’t know her). You should really get yourself treated to a manicure and pedicure and hair and what ever else you would like. You need it and you deserve it. And I agree with Carla (I know her). This website is so great. Thanks so much for the updates. You have been really diligent in writing. My wish for you today is a PEACE (and a calmness) that passes all understanding. LIVE eachday, one day at a time. My hope is that those boys continue to do so well and get stronger and healthier every day. I predict that one day, they will eat you out of house and home! Hang in there, girl!


Leave a Reply

