Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

Can I have some cheese??? July 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 4:26 pm

Because I think it would go really good with my whine!  Don’t get me wrong, I know I have a million and one things to be grateful for and believe me I am; but sometimes it’s all just a little much.  The last few days I have just been really worn out with this NICU journey; the boys are all doing so well and I guess I am just ready to get them home.  I am ready for a return to “normal” whatever normal is with three newborn triplets in the house 🙂 I know that those of our friends who have been on this roller coaster can understand and I hope that everyone else can see that these feelings have nothing to do with the boys and everything to do with stuff out of my control. 

And now that everyone has read through my whining, I’ll reward you with an update!  The boys are doing wonderful; Rowan now weighs 5 lbs. 6 oz, Elliott is 4 lbs. 7 ozs, and Finn is 5 lbs. 2 ozs.  They are all eating at every other feed and are showing some slight improvements in their eating skills.  Eli has been struggling a little with reflux but his new medicines have helped out some; you just have to be careful not to move him to much right after he eats or you could be wearing his dinner!  Pretty much every day I go up there I am more amazed by the sight of my beautiful boys.  They are spending more time awake and alert and they definitely recognize my voice.  Their little personalities are devloping and it’s great to see how unique they all are.  A few people have asked when I think they will get to come home and to tell the truth, I really don’t know.  Hopefully it will be in the next few weeks; the biggest hurdle is eating.  Once they are taking all of their calories by bottle for a few days with no other problems we will be good to go.

Oh, and I also have been served a big dinner of crow this week; I swore it would never happen, but you can now officially call me a mini-van momma!  After looking at more vehicles than I care to count and spending way to much time with car salesmen, Ross and I bought a Honda Odyssey.  I absolutely love it and truly feel it will be a great fit for our new family.  Anything that can hold me, Ross, three infant carseats, and a 5 foot long stroller must have something going for it!  Hope things have been going great for everybody and their families; thanks for checking in on us!

 

3 Responses to “Can I have some cheese???”

  1. I totally remember your pain. You’re at that “we’re so far into this, but when’s it ever going to end???” part of the NICU journey. But it sounds like you’re really hitting the home stretch. It’s so frustrating that you really DON’T know when they’ll come home until just a few days before. Then all of a sudden, you’ll think “Holy cow – I’m not ready yet!” Congrats on the new car. One more and we may have been shopping for the minivans, too. . . Continuing to lift you guys up daily in prayer.

  2. rendi Says:

    Renita,
    I’ve been meaning to call you but every time I get ready I figure you are at the hospital and don’t want to bother you. I want to check on all of you but know how busy it is to have a little one (and I just have one!). Congrats on the Mini-van…you won’t regret it! Although we don’t have one, and always said we wouldn’t, we have discussed how much easier it would be to have one since having our little one. Call me when you have a spare moment. I’d love to take you to lunch one day next week if you are up to it!

    Rendi

  3. Carla Brown Says:

    Renita,
    I completely know what you are feeling. They started giving us the “going home” talk 3 weeks before we actually left the hospital. The stipulations for us to leave was that she had to take every feed by bottle and not have any spells for a 24 hour period. We would make it to 23 hours, and she would have an “A & B!” I was so bewildered by the end of the journey, that I thought that for sure we were going to have to home school inside the NICU because she surely wouldn’t make it home before pre-school.
    The best advice that I can give you is give yourself permission to take a break. When I was at the end of my rope about a week before our discharge, I stayed in nice hotel and ordered the biggest cheeseburger off of their room-service menu. I took a unisom and slept for 12 straight hours. I promise it really re-newed my spirits and I was able to bounce back and have my positive attitude again. Remember that when they come home, you won’t be going anywhere for quite some time. So take advatage of this time; they are all doing wonderfully well, so celebrate! They will certainly understand if you take 16 hours “off.”
    Praying for you!


Leave a Reply

