Three Peas In A Pod

The wild and crazy ride of raising our triplets: Rowan, Eli, and Finn!

The Day the Earth Tilted January 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — patricktatertots @ 2:53 pm

Exactly one year ago today this is what popped up on my ultrasound screen:

boys-1-9-082

I cried on the table for the rest of the exam; I was so very scared, overwhelmed, excited and more.  I remember coming home and telling Ross; I don’t think either one of us spoke complete sentences for at least 2 days.  It was so hard to wrap your brain around that fact that there were three little babies swimming around in there.  That day began one of the best and hardest journeys I have been on.  Those who know me well also know that this has absolutely been the hardest year of my life; it has been filled with more ups and downs and twists and turns than the worst roller coaster at Six Flags.  But I can honestly say that I’m in a wonderful spot now; the boys are the biggest blessing I could ever have hoped for.  They make me laugh, they make me cry, and then they do something funny so I’ll smile again 🙂 They are learning new tricks all the time; just this week Elliott has learned to blow raspberries and he thinks it’s hilarious…he’ll blow some and then laugh at himself and smile and then blow some more.  Rowan has been playing with his toys a lot more; sometimes I swear you can see the wheels turning when he is trying to figure things out.  And Finn is still a little ham; when he smiles, his whole face lights up.  As Ross says, he smiles from his heart. 

Overall, the boys are doing great; we went to the doctor for a checkup today and current weights at 7 months are:  Rowan 12 lbs. 13 oz, Elliott 13 lbs 0 oz, and Finn 12 lbs 2 oz.  They also got the go ahead to move on from rice cereal and oatmeal so green beans and peas here we come.  Our next big appointment is on January 21st and that will be our developmental check; it will give us an idea of how the boys are doing with all their skills and see if they are lagging behind in any areas.  So overall, an enormous thumbs up; this is a testimony to the old phrase “what a difference a year makes!”

And to my tater tots: Momma may have went to hell and back to get you here, but I would do it a million times over just to spend one day with you.  You make my world go round…I love you to pieces.

 

5 Responses to “The Day the Earth Tilted”

  1. Mary Parker Says:

    What a year!!! They are just so precious and we love all of you so very much!! What a Christmas we had with three new Great-Grandsons to go with the three Greats we already had. Six is super great. I am so happy they are doing so well. You and Ross too. Lots of changes at the Patrick house.
    We love you all, Mammaw and Pappaw

  2. Gran Says:

    How could I have ever looked at that ultrasound and not seen three? I’m sure it was the excitement of there even being one! Last year was definitely one for the books in this family, and the future shines as bright as the smile in the eyes of ALL of my grandbabies. Did we really jump from 3 to 6 in such a short period of time? I hope you and Ross count your blessings every day, big and small.

    Love to all,
    Gran

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I felt the same way when I found out I was pregnant again and Jake was oly 4 months old. Cried even more when i keyed in my info on the pregnancy calculator on the internet and discovered they would be a YEAR apart. We didn’t have triplets but it sure was difficult. Now that they are 1 & 2 I find myself thinking all the time, how did we get here and where has time gone! enjoy those sweet baby boys!

  4. Jen Says:

    I remember the day we found out there were 3 all too well! We were so shocked we just kind of giggled!

  5. Mary/Anthony Says:

    You are so blessed. Prayers are always said for your wonderful family. Don’t worry about a ting, every little ting, gonna be all right. God Bless All of You. The Will of God will never take you where the Grace of God will not protect you.


Leave a Reply

